Parenting

Surprises of being a Momma!

When I first found out I was pregnant with our first little one, I felt so many emotions. I was beyond excited! At the same time, I was doubting if we were ready to have our lives completely change. How amazing would it be to feel a little baby inside of me moving for the first time? What would labor be like? All these questions (and more!) went through my head, but the biggest feelings I had were complete and utter joy and such a feeling of bliss. We had been trying to have a baby for quite some time, and God had decided that was the perfect moment that we needed to be pregnant and have this sweet little boy. There are several things I knew and expected when we became parents. There are, however, several more things I had no idea about! Here are a few things that we have learned in the few short years of being parents.

 

Me pregnant with our first
Pregnant with our first
  • I’ve always heard that when you first hold your baby in your arms, you feel a love for your little one that you never knew was possible. It’s an automatic love that you’ve never experienced before. What I didn’t even think about until I was pregnant is that love starts way before you hold your baby in your arms. That deep love starts when you’re still holding your sweet baby in your womb. Right after I found out I was pregnant, I knew that I would do whatever it took to keep my baby healthy. Even if for some unforeseen reason I would have to die to keep my baby alive. I was willing to give up my life for my baby’s if that’s what needed to happen.
  • Speaking of love, watching my husband talk to our babies while they were in my womb and hold my belly just to be close to our babies was one of the sweetest things I’ve ever witnessed in my life. When our precious boys were born, watching my hubby hold and love on the boys was a feeling that I can’t even describe. It’s a mixture of such love and a feeling of warmth. One of the best sights in the world is a daddy loving on his babies.
  • When baby is up in the night and you can’t figure out why he’s crying, you can’t hand him off to his parents. You ARE the parents! You’re the one that has to figure out this little guy’s personality, likes, dislikes, things that bother his tummy, etc. It was so much easier when my niece and nephews cried; I could hand them off to “momma” and let her soothe and settle them. Now I AM the momma!
  • Something I found out at one of my postpartum midwife appointments is that a lot of the times even if you struggled to get pregnant with your first baby, the second is usually a lot easier to become pregnant with. My midwife told me that, “your body has sort of figured out how to become pregnant, and now that it knows how, it’s easier to get pregnant again.” A definite “good to know” thing!
Baby feet
Precious Baby Feet
  • I knew I would be all “goo-goo eyed” over our babies, but I had no idea how much so. Every little thing our babies do, I think is the most precious thing in the world. For example, my littlest boy has started sucking on his toes. If you know me, you know that I don’t overly like feet. They usually somewhat gross me out. However, watching my baby suck his toes is the cutest thing in the world to me. I know as babies grow and become toddlers, not everything they do is cute, but I still think the majority of what my oldest does is so adorable!
  • I knew I would need friend’s and family’s help to raise our boys. Even in the small things, such as when I’m sick, when we first bring baby home from the hospital, when we’ve had very little sleep with a kiddo that doesn’t feel well, etc. I’m still, however, learning that I’m not failing as a parent or letting my boys down by asking for help from my friends and family. We all need each other and God placed these people in our lives for a reason. We all are there to lean on each other and be there for each other.
  • If I don’t have some “me time”, I won’t be an effective mom or wife. I’m still learning this one, but I do know that when I am feeling pulled on and I don’t take even a few minutes to myself, I become a bit cranky. It’s something that just happens. We are designed to want to take care of everyone around us, our husbands, our kids, our family, our friends. However, we also have to take care of ourselves. If we don’t, we aren’t able to be there emotionally or mentally for our family. I, for a long time, felt bad about leaving my boys. I felt that if I couldn’t just take care of them, my husband, and myself all at the same time, I was doing something wrong. However, with help from my husband, family, and friends, I am learning that I have to invest in myself in order to be completely there (and not cranky!) for my family.
  • Sometimes I just need to hear, “You’ve got this, momma! You can do it! God picked you specifically to be these two boys’ momma. He knew that what you can place into their lives, teach them, and how you love on them is exactly what they need.” Hearing those sweet words, helps me in hard times when I doubt that I’m being an effective momma, or when I’m going through trials being a momma.
  • Hearing my baby say, “Momma!” and hearing my kiddo tell me that he loves me melts my heart beyond what I could have ever imagined!
  • I never guessed that I would be saying some of the things that now come out of my mouth. For example, “Please stop rubbing your chip between your toes and just eat it.” I even heard one mom say that she had to tell her son to “stop wrapping your weenie around your fork and eat your supper.” These things make me laugh as they are coming out of my mouth!

There are so many things that come with being a momma, and I absolutely love being these boys’ momma! I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world!

What are some things that you had no idea about before becoming a parent? I would also love to hear some of the funny things you never thought you’d say, but yet you say them now!

Untitled design (3)

4 thoughts on “Surprises of being a Momma!”

  1. There’s too many funny things I never thought I’d say that I have since becoming a mom. Some of them aren’t funny at the time but as I look back on them, things like that are what make for funny memories. Something I didn’t count on before coming a mom was the fierce protectiveness I feel for my kids. How I would go to many lengths and leave no stone unturned in trying to help or protect my children. And I have learned so much about God’s great love for us since being a parent. Thanks for the post!

    Like

    1. That’s very true! I agree that there is definitely a fierce protectiveness, and that I’d do anything for my boys! I love that you mentioned you’ve learned about God’s love for us as our Father. It’s neat that He will show us some of His traits and love for us in the ways that we love our kiddos.

      Like

Leave a Reply

